TL;DR
Get your wardrobe favorites delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Orient Star’s Sakigake Three Hand marks the brand’s 75th anniversary with a simpler dial, omitting both the date and the power-reserve indicator. Esquire reports a 38.7mm steel case, a new in-house automatic movement and prices starting at €880; the copper version is limited to 900 pieces.
Orient Star has introduced the Sakigake Three Hand for its 75th anniversary, stripping away the date and power-reserve indicator that have featured on many of its watches. The change gives the Japanese brand a simpler everyday automatic, with reported prices starting at €880.
According to Esquire’s report, the watch has a 38.7mm case made from 316L stainless steel and a newly designed bracelet. Its sunburst dial has faceted, petal-shaped hour markers and skeletonized hands. Four dial colors are listed: gold, silver, light blue and copper. The copper version is limited to 900 pieces.
Power comes from Orient Star’s new in-house F7542 automatic movement, which the report says provides more than 50 hours of power reserve. That reserve is a movement specification; unlike on some earlier Orient Star dials, it is not displayed by an indicator on the Sakigake Three Hand’s face. The watch also has sapphire crystal on the front and back, 100 meters of water resistance and a screw-down crown.
Esquire lists the light-blue model at €880, or just under $1,000, and the copper limited edition at €960, roughly $1,088. The supplied report does not give prices for the gold and silver versions. These are reported specifications and prices; the source material does not include an independent product review.
A Cleaner Direction for Orient Star
The model’s main news is a change to the brand’s familiar dial design. Orient Star has included power-reserve indicators on its dials since 1996, according to Esquire, making the indicator’s removal a notable departure for the anniversary watch. Leaving off the date as well creates a less crowded face, while the movement still retains more than 50 hours of power reserve.
The watch also places that design shift in a compact steel case with a bracelet, sapphire crystals and 100-meter water resistance. Those features may appeal to buyers looking for a mechanical watch suited to regular wear. The listed prices establish the cost of the two models covered in the report; they do not, by themselves, establish how the watch compares in value with competitors.
Seventy-Five Years of Watchmaking
Orient Star began making watches in 1951. Esquire reports that the power-reserve indicator has been part of Orient Star dials since 1996, so its absence on the Sakigake Three Hand marks a change to a design element that has lasted for three decades.
The anniversary watch keeps the automatic movement while simplifying what appears on the dial. Its name also signals the three-hand layout described in the report. The supplied source identifies four colors and the copper edition limit, but gives no release schedule or detail on availability by market.
““removed one of the features that has defined its watches for three decades””
— Esquire
Availability and Prices by Market
The supplied report does not specify when the watch will go on sale, which markets will receive each dial color, or the prices of the gold and silver versions. It also does not state whether the copper edition’s 900-piece limit applies worldwide. The quoted euro prices and approximate dollar conversions are those reported by Esquire; local pricing may differ.
Retail Details Still to Come
Readers interested in buying the watch will need retailer or Orient Star announcements for release dates, regional availability and confirmed local prices. The source material provides the listed prices for the light-blue and copper models and the copper edition limit, but does not name a launch date or retailers. Further buying details remain unconfirmed in the report.
Key Questions
What changed on the Sakigake Three Hand’s dial?
It omits the date display and the power-reserve indicator that Esquire says has appeared on Orient Star dials since 1996.
What movement does the watch use?
The report identifies a new Orient Star F7542 automatic movement, with more than 50 hours of power reserve.
How much does it cost?
Esquire lists the light-blue model at €880 and the copper limited edition at €960. The report does not provide prices for the gold and silver versions.
How many copper models will be made?
The copper-dial version is reported as limited to 900 pieces. The source does not say whether that limit is worldwide.
When will the watch be available?
The supplied report does not give a release date or retailer availability details.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
